Peter from NY

Peter from NY

Postby PeterNYNJ » Fri Sep 05, 2014 9:48 pm

Hi, I'm Peter, Onex builder #170 from New York City. After decades of thinking about it, I've finally decided to start building.

Last year I flew to Wisconsin and went on a familiarization flight with Joe Norris in the Sonex trainer, and was
really impressed! (If you have any doubts about how nicely the Sonex flies, book a flight.)
What a professional operation they have there! The Sonex went to the top of my list.

But the Onex makes more sense for me since hangar space is scarce here. It's my first build, but second plane and maybe they can share a T-hangar? Anyone know of any small T-hangars available in north/central NJ suitable for kit assembly at some point?

I'm planning Aerovee, tailwheel, polished aluminum, and lightweight for simple aerobatics (the opposite of the regional jets I fly out of Newark, NJ at my job).

I'm glad to learn from all of you and thank you for all your builder's tips that you've posted!

Thanks,
Peter U
Onex #170
NY/NJ
Peter
Onex #170
Aerovee 2.1
Conventional Gear
Flight Test Phase 1
PeterNYNJ

Re: Peter from NY

Postby Bryan Cotton » Fri Sep 05, 2014 9:52 pm

Hi Peter and welcome to the forums! I am originally from southern CT not far from the city. I miss some things about the east coast but hangar costs and availability is not one of them! I sat in the Onex at the workshop and think they are cool, good luck with your project! The folding wings should give you an opportunity for cheap hangar space.
Bryan Cotton
Poplar Grove, IL C77
Waiex 191 N191YX
Taildragger, Aerovee, acro ailerons
dual sticks with sport trainer controls
Prebuilt spars and machined angle kit
Year 2 flying and approaching 200 hours December 23
Bryan Cotton

Postby PeterNYNJ » Fri Sep 05, 2014 10:53 pm

Thanks Bryan, I used to be a CFI in CT, beautiful place to fly, with the LI sound right there.