First Question

First Question

Postby swiftgringo » Tue Jul 23, 2024 7:28 pm

Hello all. I'm a mature student pilot with a lifelong interest in aviation. I have some industry background as a non-pilot (mainly rotorwing) and I'm very excited to be flying myself. My plan is to finish my PPL, obtain the most inexpensive to own/operate plane I can find and gain experience while I build something better : ) Many will say I'm getting ahead of myself (myself included) but I've worked out a deal on a Corben Baby Ace and I'm in the process of lining up the right Sonex project to take over. I know two experienced builders in my area who have built FlyCorvair engines so that's what I'm leaning towards. (I'm aware that there has been some heated debate on that subject.) With that in mind, I'm looking for a model A tailwheel. I've corresponded and visited a few potential projects that are 2/3 built but ordered as tri-gear. I'm pretty settled on the Sonex but I haven't poured over any plans yet. How hard is it to convert and partially completed tri-gear to tailwheel?

Looking forward to interacting with the fine people here.
~Cory

PS: I like Sonex because they seem to be the best value on the market. I'm looking at used kits because I think there's a much better chance of finishing one that's half done... and it leaves more money for other aviationy things.
swiftgringo

Re: First Question

Postby Skippydiesel » Tue Jul 23, 2024 10:28 pm

Can't comment on FlyCorvair or AeroVee engines.

Jabs - only by reputation = good value for money, latest variants, possibly more reliable than old.

I fly a Sonex Legacy/Rotax 912ULS. Hard to beat Rotax for reliability, durability, fuel consumption, smooth & quiet operation BUT costly to purchase. Personally I don't think costly to run IF you take the time to find the most cost effective (& safe) service part for the job.